Skip to content

Life’s Little Pleasures

October 27, 2010

Lots of self-help books, and advice columns tell you to start enjoying the little things in life. But the problem is, they never really tell you what kinds of little things you can enjoy. And without that kind of guidance, people might think they are supposed to be enjoying hotel shampoos, toy poodles, and toothpicks. And while those are all mildly enjoyable things, I have compiled a much more comprehensive list of seven “little things” that I enjoy. Feel free to enjoy these things too.

1) Warm water in the bathroom taps. I take a strange amount of pleasure in washing my hands. And when the water in the automatic faucets at work comes out really warm, I stand there for an inappropriate amount of time, washing my hands. It’s like the joy that people get from a hot shower. A hand shower is almost as enjoyable, and also more acceptable to do in public.

2) Cookies. Enough said.

3) Feeding snacks to babies and puppies. This might expose me as being a bit creepy. But it’s pretty easy to win over both babies, and puppies, by feeding them snacks. And who doesn’t want to feel extra-loved by babies and puppies?? Tip: puppies like luncheon meats, and babies like Craisins and Bear Paws. Side note: I, also, now enjoy Bear Paws.

4) Drinking a lot of water and green tea and then peeing clear. I get a pretty large swelling of pride when I know that I am so hydrated that I’m pretty much just peeing straight up water. Disclaimer: if you do not enjoy peeing numerous times throughout the day, this small pleasure is NOT for you. But if you DO take pleasure in seeing how many bottles of water it takes for you to pee clear, then please proceed.

5) Making lists. Shocking, I know. I especially like making to-do lists, and putting little checkmark boxes beside each item. I also typically add in a few things that I have already done, so that I can check them off right away, and feel proud and accomplished.


6) Tickling people who hate to be tickled. This is really the only semi-violent/slightly sadistic little pleasure on my list. But I can’t help it. The more a person hates being tickled, the more enjoyable it is to tickle them. Forcing a person to laugh against their will is oddly satisfying. But beware of angering the ticklee. They can get violent. And you definitely do not want to choose a ticklee who is attempting #4.

7) Post-its. My love for post-its is part of a general love for office supplies (including pens, label makers, paperclips, etc). Back to school shopping was one of my very favourite excursions, as a child. But I digress. Post-its are like their own little organizational system. You’ve got standard sized post-its for larger notes, mini ones for smaller notes, you’ve got page markers, and flaggy things. The possibilities are endless!! My desk is covered in them.

*Note: Attempting all 7 of these in one day could result in extreme happiness and what is known as simple-pleasure-overload. Recommended dosage is one per day (maximum of two, if it’s a cold, dreary day, or if your goldfish just died).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 5:59 pm

    This is exactly how OCD begins 😉

  2. Stacey permalink
    October 27, 2010 6:19 pm

    Not to be nit picky….but this is only 7/10 “little things” to enjoy…..what should I do once I accomplish the first 7?? lol

    btw, I laughed out loud and looked crazy at reading #6

    • October 27, 2010 7:00 pm

      Sorry Stac, this is a 7-step program. After that, you are on your own. I’m not here to feed people’s addictions.

  3. Jenna permalink
    October 27, 2010 7:18 pm

    What’s a Bear Paw? Can I have one for christmas?

  4. October 28, 2010 12:27 pm

    Liked it all except that 4) you are drinking bottled water , and Nestle Pure Evil water at that…
    and not to be critical but this post would be waay stronger with proper subtitles.

  5. November 1, 2010 3:06 pm

    Office supplies definitely make my day. I especially like coloured pens! Not gel pens though – those suck when I try writing with them. But ball point pens of myriad of colours – pink, green, light blue, purple, orange!

    And post its. I use them everywhere at work, even though I can write on many other things/ make tasks in Outlook.

  6. November 1, 2010 10:58 pm

    Post Its win. Office supplies win.
    Everything else is secondary to Post Its.
    Except maybe cookies. Nothing REALLY beats cookies.

Leave a Reply

